Aus vs WI – 2nd T20I – ‘There was no appeal’ – Australia denied run out in bizarre scenes


Australia were denied a run out in bizarre circumstances during the closing stages of the second T20I against West Indies in Adelaide when umpire Gerard Abood ruled they had not appealed.
In the 19th over, Alzarri Joseph drove to cover and ran. Mitchell Marsh collected the ball and threw it to Spencer Johnson who broke the stumps. There was very little excitement from the fielders, with Johnson immediately making his way back to his mark and Marsh looking frustrated he had not made a direct hit.

On the TV coverage, Abood can be heard saying, seemingly to the TV umpire over his radio: “No appeal.”

The replay was then shown on the big screen with Joseph clearly out of his ground and the Australians started to celebrate, but Abood stood by his view there was no appeal and it could not now be made.

The players started to gather around Abood, who said: “Stop, stop, stop…there was no appeal.”

Tim David could be heard insisting he had appealed. Tempers started to fray, with one voice heard saying “this is ridiculous.” David Warner could be heard saying, “it’s an umpire error.”

With the players remonstrating, Abood says: “Can we get on with the game, guys…guys we are getting into real poor territory.”

Eventually, Johnson sent down the next delivery and the game drew to its conclusion.

“I think the umpire deemed that no one had appealed, and there was a few of us that thought we did appeal,” Glenn Maxwell said after the game. “To be fair I understand, it wasn’t like it was a screaming appeal from everyone but probably one of those things where you expect it to go up to the third umpire, we thought it was pretty close and there were a few of us putting our hands up.

“We sort of stopped, thinking he’d sent it upstairs, and everyone was turned around watching the big screen and the batter had already started walking off. So it was just confusing – thank God it didn’t cost the game. Just one of those weird rules in cricket, we should probably just be a bit louder with our appeals.”

Law 31.3, timing of appeals, states: “For an appeal to be valid, it must be made before the bowler begins his/her run-up or, if there is no run-up, his/her bowling action to deliver the next ball, and before Time has been called.”

There is no specific reference to an appeal coming after a replay has been shown on the big screen, although there are protocols around replays not going onto the screen for appeals that may involve the DRS until the 15 seconds have elapsed.

There was an occurrence in the recent Australia-South Africa women’s ODI series where Australia were denied the chance to review an lbw against Chloe Tryon because the replay had already been put on the screen.

The incident in Adelaide did not impact the result of the game which Australia won by 34 runs.

#Aus #2nd #T20I #appeal #Australia #denied #run #bizarre #scenes

Leave a Comment