Recent Match Report – Australia vs West Indies 3rd ODI 2023/24


Australia won the toss and decided to bowl against West Indies

Quicks Xavier Bartlett and Lance Morris returned as Australia captain Steven Smith won the toss and elected to bowl against West Indies in gloomy conditions in the third and final match of the ODI series at Manuka Oval.

Australia have already clinched the series after comprehensive victories in Melbourne and Sydney. After starring in his international debut with a four-wicket haul at the MCG, Bartlett has been recalled after being rested and looms as a threat in expected seaming conditions.

Morris has also been named having struggled in his debut at the MCG with allrounder Matthew Short ruled out with a hamstring injury and quick Josh Hazlewood not make the trip to Canberra.

West Indies are desperate for a consolation victory with batter Teddy Bishop making his debut and he replaces opener Justin Greaves, who was ruled out with a hamstring injury.

There was some morning rain in Canberra with a shower or two forecast for the remainder of the day.

Australia will be looking to continue their irrepressible form in the 50-over format having won 11 consecutive ODIs since the early stages of the World Cup.

West Indies haven’t beaten Australia in an ODI in Australia since January 1997 with their barren streak culminating in 19 defeats from 21 matches and two no results.

The teams have only played one previous ODI in the nation’s capital with Australia winning by 39 runs in February 2013.

Australia 1 Jake Fraser-McGurk, 2 Josh Inglis (wk), 3 Cameron Green, 4 Steven Smith (c), 5 Marnus Labsuchagne, 6 Aaron Hardie, 7 Sean Abbott, 8 Will Sutherland, 9 Xavier Bartlett, 10 Adam Zampa, 11 Lance Morris

West Indies 1 Teddy Bishop, 2 Alick Athanaze, 3 Kjorn Ottley, 4 Shai Hope (c/wk), 5 Keacy Carty, 6 Roston Chase, 7 Romario Shepherd, 8 Matthew Forde, 9 Alzarri Joseph, 10 Gudakesh Motie, 11 Oshane Thomas

#Match #Report #Australia #West #Indies #3rd #ODI

Leave a Comment