BCCI Unveils Squad for T20 Series Against Afghanistan


Team India came back from the South Africa tour. Their next mission is the three-match T20 series against Afghanistan on home soil. Both teams are scheduled to play three T20 matches. This is the last T20 series before the T20 World Cup. A lot of buzz was going over Kohli and Rohit’s participation in this series. On January 7th, BCCI revealed the squad for the T20 series against Afghanistan. 

India’s Squad Against Afghanistan:

The T20 World Cup is scheduled to happen in June. USA and West Indies will host the tournament. Before that, Team India will play a three-match T20 series against Afghanistan. This will be the final T20 series ahead of the upcoming T20 World Cup. the first match of the series will be played on January 11 in Mohali. The second and the third matches are scheduled to happen on January 14 and 17. 

Ahead of the series, BCCI revealed the final squad for the T20 series against Afghanistan. Virat and Rohit are back in the team. The squad for the T20 series contained Rohit Sharma (C), Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Verma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (WK), Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan and Mukesh Kumar. 

Rohit and Virat are Back:

After a lot of speculation, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma are back in the squad. The duo didn’t feature in any T20 clashes after the previous edition of the T20 World Cup. but they will be playing against Afghanistan. Rohit Sharma will be leading Team India. A number of youngsters got a chance in the squad. Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj are given rest in this series. 

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav and Hardik Pandya will miss the series. Ruturaj sustained a finger injury while playing against South Africa. He is still recovering. Suryakumar Yadav sustained an ankle injury in the third T20 against South Africa. Hardik Pandya got injured in the World Cup. They all are at NCA and recovering from injuries. Afghanistan announced its squad. In the absence of Rashid Khan, Ibrahim Zadran will lead the team. 

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on WhatsappFacebook, Twitter, and Instagram

#BCCI #Unveils #Squad #T20 #Series #Afghanistan

Leave a Comment