Cricket Australia unveils schedule of Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2024-25; Perth to host 5-match Test series opener


Cricket Australia (CA) have announced the eagerly awaited schedule for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2024-25, marking a significant milestone in cricketing history. The iconic series, featuring five Tests between India and Australia, is set to commence with an intense battle at Perth Stadium.

Perth to host opening match

The series will kick off with a bang at Perth Stadium, where the first Test is scheduled to take place. This highly anticipated clash promises to set the tone for the remainder of the series. Following the opener, the teams will head to Adelaide Oval for a day-night pink-ball Test in early December. This match holds special significance as it marks India’s fifth day-night Test and their second against Australia since their memorable encounter in December 2020.

Boxing-Day Test

The action will then shift to The Gabba in Brisbane for the third Test. The historic ground promises to witness yet another thrilling chapter in the storied rivalry between the two cricketing giants. As tradition dictates, the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground will host the Boxing Day Test. Cricket enthusiasts can expect a spectacle as the teams battle it out in front of a fervent crowd. The series will culminate with the fifth and final Test in Sydney in January 2025, promising a thrilling conclusion to what is expected to be a fiercely contested contest.

Notably, India enter the Border-Gavaskar Trophy series as the reigning champions, having secured three consecutive triumphs, including memorable victories during their tours of Australia in 2018-19 and 2020-21. Before the Border-Gavaskar Trophy commences, Australia will also host Pakistan for a series of ODIs and T20Is in early November. These matches will serve as crucial preparation for both teams ahead of the Champions Trophy.

Also WATCH: IPL 2024 – KKR skipper Shreyas Iyer shakes his leg on SRK’s ‘Jhoome Jo Pathaan’ song with a female fan

Border-Gavaskar Series 2024-25 fixtures:

  • First Test: 22-26 November, Perth Stadium, Perth
  • Second Test: 6-10 December, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (D/N)
  • Third Test: 14-18 December, The Gabba, Brisbane
  • Fourth Test: 26-30 December, MCG, Melbourne
  • Fifth Test: 3-7 January, SCG, Sydney

Pakistan tour of Australia

ODI series

  • First ODI: 4 November, MCG, Melbourne
  • Second ODI: 8 November, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
  • Third ODI: 10 November, Perth Stadium, Perth

T20I Series

  • First T20I: 14 November, The Gabba, Brisbane
  • Second T20I: 16 November, SCG, Sydney
  • Third T20I: 18 November, Bellerive Oval, Hobart

Also READ: IPL 2024 – RCB comes up with a gold response to Murali Kartik’s controversial remark for Yash Dayal

#Cricket #Australia #unveils #schedule #BorderGavaskar #Trophy #Perth #host #5match #Test #series #opener

Leave a Comment