SL vs ZIM: Sri Lanka Squad For Zimbabwe ODIs Announced, Kusal Mendis To Lead, Wanindu Hasaranga Doubtful


SL vs ZIM: Sri Lanka's ODI Sqauad Announced, Kusal Mendis To Lead, Wanindu Hasaranga Doubtful

Kusal Mendis is all set to lead Sri Lanka in the upcoming home ODI series against Zimbabwe. The series involves three ODIs that kick off the series followed by a three-match T20I series. The final ODI squad has been announced with Kusal Mendis all set to lead an experienced side.

All the matches will be played in Colombo with the ODIs to be played on January 6, 8, and 11. The T20Is then follow on January 14, 16 and 18. Sri Lanka who finished ninth in the recently concluded ICC World Cup are all set to resume playing international cricket in the brand new year of 2024.

“Sri Lanka Cricket wishes to announce the following preliminary squads selected by the Sri Lanka Cricket Selection Committee, focusing on the Zimbabwe Tour of Sri Lanka. The final squads for both the ODI and T20I squads will be selected out of the below-given preliminary squads,” said a statement from Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC).

The Sri Lanka Cricket Selection Committee headed by Upul Tharanga came up with the idea to announce different teams and captains for the ODI and T20I cricket to focus on the forthcoming Zimbabwe cricket series which will commence on January 6.

Sri Lanka’s ODI Squad Announced

Based on the performance of ongoing Major Clubs limited over cricket tournaments selectors made this selection and all five selection committee members saw the Major club matches and discussed with Provincial selectors to make the selections.

Charith Asalanka was named the vice-captain of the ODI and T20I squads. Dasun Shanaka led Sri Lanka in the World Cup but was ruled out of the tournament halfway with an injury. Kusal Mendis who was named the skipper for the remainder of the tournament is a part of this squad as a specialist keeper.

Maheesh Theekshana and Wanindu Hasaranga have been picked in both squads. The duo will pair up once again and will be back in action. Theehskana was the lead spinner for Sri Lanka in the ODI World Cup with Hasaranga struggling with injury concerns. Akila Dhananjaya another senior spinner in the side has been named in the ODI squads as well.

The team has a great chance to win the ODI and the T20I series at home against the minnows after their World Cup heartbreak. Injuries coupled with the bad form of key players were the reason behind the team’s lackluster performance in the tournament. Sri Lanka made it to the final of the Asia Cup 2023 before the World Cup but lost to India.

Sri Lanka’s Preliminary ODI Squad For Zimbabwe Series

Kusal Mendis (c), Charith Asalanka (vc), Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Sahan Arachchige, Nuwanidu Fernando, Dasun Shanaka, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Janith Liyanage, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka, Dushmantha Chameera, Dunith Wellalage, Pramod Madushan, Asitha Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Gunasekera.

Sri Lanka Preliminary T20I Squad For Zimbabwe Series 

Wanindu Hasaranga (c), Charith Asalanka (vc), Pathum Nissanaka, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dasun Shanaka, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, Kusal Janith Perera, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Kamindu Mendis, Dunith Wellalage, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Dilshan Madushanka, Binura Fernando, Nuwan Thushara, Pramod Madushan,

Also Read: PAK vs AUS: Virender Sehwag Picks David Warner’s Exceptional 180 Against India His Favorite Knock

The post SL vs ZIM: Sri Lanka Squad For Zimbabwe ODIs Announced, Kusal Mendis To Lead, Wanindu Hasaranga Doubtful appeared first on CricketAddictor.

#ZIM #Sri #Lanka #Squad #Zimbabwe #ODIs #Announced #Kusal #Mendis #Lead #Wanindu #Hasaranga #Doubtful

Leave a Comment