15 cricketers who featured in IPL 2008 and will now play in IPL 2024


The Indian Premier League (IPL), a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India, is officially known as the Tata IPL for sponsorship reasons. Established in 2008 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), the IPL has become one of the most popular and lucrative T20 leagues globally.

The IPL features franchise-based teams representing various cities and regions in India. Ten teams, namely Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Mumbai Indians (MI), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Delhi Capitals (DC), Punjab Kings (PBKS), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Rajasthan Royals (RR), Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Gujarat Titans (GT) and Lucknow Super Giants (LSG), will compete in the group stage format before reaching the playoffs to lift the IPL trophy in the 2024 edition.

As the excitement builds for the forthcoming season of the IPL, cricket enthusiasts are in for a nostalgic treat. A select group of players, who graced the inaugural IPL season in 2008, are set to showcase their skills once again, creating a unique link between the tournament’s inception and its current edition.

Also READ: 6 overpriced players in IPL 2024 auction

IPL through the eras: 15 players bridging the gap from 2008 to 2024

1. MS Dhoni (CSK): The iconic captain, synonymous with Chennai Super Kings, continues to lead the charge for the yellow brigade.

2. Virat Kohli (RCB): The face of Royal Challengers Bangalore, Virat Kohli, remains a constant force in the IPL.

3. Rohit Sharma (Deccan Chargers in 2008, MI in 2024): The journey of the Hitman includes early days with Deccan Chargers and later leading the Mumbai Indians to numerous successes.

4. Ravindra Jadeja (RR in 2008, CSK in 2024): From representing Rajasthan Royals in the early days to donning the Chennai Super Kings’ colors, Jadeja has evolved into a key all-rounder in the league.

5. Ravichandran Ashwin (CSK in 2008, RR in 2024): The seasoned off-spinner, R Ashwin, returns to the Rajasthan Royals after an early stint with the Chennai Super Kings.

6. Shikhar Dhawan (Delhi Daredevils in 2008, PBKS in 2024): From the Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) to the Punjab Kings, Shikhar Dhawan’s IPL journey reflects his consistency as an opening batsman.

7. Piyush Chawla (Kings XI Punjab in 2008, MI in 2024): Piyush Chawla has transitioned across teams, from Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) in the inaugural season to the Mumbai Indians in the upcoming edition.

8. Amit Mishra (Delhi Daredevils in 2008, LSG in 2024): The wily leg-spinner, Amit Mishra, continues his IPL journey, moving from Delhi Daredevils to the newly formed Lucknow Supergiants.

9. Manish Pandey (MI in 2008, KKR in 2024): Manish Pandey’s IPL voyage started with Mumbai Indians, and he will now be representing the Kolkata Knight Riders.

10. Ajinkya Rahane (MI in 2008, CSK in 2024): Mking his IPL debut with MI, Ajinkya Rahane has moved to CSK after leading RR for several years.

11. Dinesh Karthik (Delhi Daredevils in 2008, RCB in 2024): The experienced wicketkeeper-batter, Dinesh Karthik, transitioned from Delhi Daredevils to Royal Challengers Bangalore.

12. Rishi Dhawan (KXIP in 2008, PBKS in 2024): Rishi Dhawan maintained his association with the Punjab-based franchise, having been part of the squad in the inaugural season.

13. Swapnil Singh (MI in 2008, RCB in 2024): Swapnil Singh changed jerseys, moving from Mumbai Indians to Royal Challengers Bangalore in the 2024 season.

14. Ishant Sharma (KKR in 2008, DC in 2024): Ishant Sharma, who initially represented Kolkata Knight Riders, will be seen in action for the Delhi Capitals in the upcoming season.

15. Wriddhiman Saha (KKR in 2008, GT in 2024): The experienced wicketkeeper-batsman, Wriddhiman Saha, transitioned from Kolkata Knight Riders to the newly formed Gujarat Titans.

Also READ: Here are the complete squads of all 10 teams after IPL 2024 auction

As the IPL 2024 promises another thrilling chapter in the league’s history, the presence of these seasoned campaigners from the inaugural season adds an extra layer of nostalgia and experience to the cricketing extravaganza. Cricket fans eagerly await the familiar faces to weave their magic once again on the grand IPL stage.

#cricketers #featured #IPL #play #IPL

Leave a Comment